Maybelline Autumn Leaves

No bones about it, I’m a whore for autumn. When I saw that Maybelline had a new, limited edition polish this fall called Autumn Leaves, it had to be mine.

I think Autumn Leaves is best described as a burgundy/garnet base color, with a layer of bronze and gold shimmer floating in it. The shimmer is much more apparent in the bottle, as you can see above. Application was a little tricky with this one. Two coats were necessary to get the shimmer layer to apply evenly–and I still missed a spot, which you can see on my middle finger.

The slightly-tricky application is worth it, though. This polish is gorgeous, and I got more compliments than I usually do on it. It can be a bit of a chameleon. For the most part, it looks like a rich garnet. In some lights, it looks almost completely bronze. When the sun hits it, the shimmer comes out and you get a bit of both, as you can see in the picture below.

The difficult thing about Autumn Leaves is finding it. I hit up every drugstore in my area, and none of them had it. I found it at Ulta, clumped together with the rest of Maybelline’s permanent line of polishes.

No dupes come to mind. Some suggested Essie’s Wrapped in Rubies, but from the pictures I see online, WiR doesn’t seem as rusty/bronze.

Leave a Reply

