Lorac Limited Edition Bejeweled Eye Shadow Palette Review, Part 1: Topaz

This is the first of three posts dedicated to Lorac’s Limited Edition Bejeweled Eye Shadow Palette Trio, which I purchased at Ulta for $34.99.  It consists of three separate quad palettes, each individually wrapped so you could buy the set and split it up amongst friends as gifts.  The first palette is Topaz, which features four beautiful warm-toned browns/golds/neutrals.  It’s terribly lovely to look at, what with its subtle shimmer, mirror-shiny case, and awesome gemstones on the front.  There’s a huuuuuge mirror inside, and the case itself is very sturdy, with a magnetic close that’s easy to open.

The shadows themselves are fairly nice; they’re moderately pigmented and go on nicely.  There isn’t much fallout, although the lightest shade is really sheer, and I couldn’t get the gold-toned one to be as gold as I wanted.  The bronzey-brown and chocolate were true to the way they looked in the pan.  There is subtle shimmer in the pan as well, but it didn’t translate very much to my eye. I’d recommend wearing over a primer, the swatches on my arm are over a primer, and they still look light, although I got much better performance on my actual eyelid.

I used this palette to create a look (using these four shadows ONLY, over Too Faced Shadow Insurance, with Stila Smudge Stick in Damsel and Clinque High Impact Mascara).  The lightest shade I used all over the lid and brow, the bronze shade on my lid, the chocolate in the crease, and I put the gold on my inner corner and under the bottom lash line.  It all combines for a nice, classic, bronze-smokey eye, subtle enough to wear to work, but also nice enough to wear out, although, as you can see, it’s not reinventing the wheel here with creativity or originality.

Overall, I think this is a nice palette if you don’t have much of a makeup collection, or to split up as gifts for all the women in your life.  If you have a large makeup collection, I’d skip this though, because chances are, you have similar colors already, that probably perform a little better than these.

PART TWO REVIEW

2 thoughts on “Lorac Limited Edition Bejeweled Eye Shadow Palette Review, Part 1: Topaz

  1. Pingback: Early Autumn Haul « MakeupMental

  2. Pingback: Lorac Limited Edition Bejeweled Eye Shadow Palette Review, Part 2: Quartz « MakeupMental

Leave a Reply

