Battle of the Glitter Eyeliners

During the past year, I began my foray into glitter eyeliners.  I adore Urban Decay, and their Heavy Metal Glitter Liner color selection wooed me instantly, and so my first glitter liner purchase was Baked.

I initially wore it to a birthday party, and spent the night at a friend’s house.  I fell asleep without taking my makeup off…kids, don’t sleep with glitter eyeliner on.  The morning was not pleasant.  Still, I was happy with my purchase…until I compared it with Annie’s Sephora glitter eyeliner in Gold.  They were the exact same color, and the Sephora liner laid down a much denser line.  Then I found out it was $12!  On my next trip to Sephora, I picked up a liner in Opal, because it was similar to Urban Day’s Distortion, which was next on my list.  Before I checked out, I stumbled across Too Faced’s Starry-Eyed Liquid Eyeliners–they had an awesome color selection, quite a few of which appeared to be decent dupes for the Urban Decay colors.  I tested a swatch of Restraining Order against Urban Decay’s Spandex, and they were identical…except that once again, the Urban Decay glitter was sparse in comparison.  I walked out of Sephora that day with two glitter eyeliners.

Here, I’ve swatched my liners (from left to right, Urban Decay, Too Faced, Sephora).  The picture on the top is with flash, the bottom is with no flash.  The Sephora liner swatch is a bit hard to see because of its opalescent color, but, at least in the picture without flash, it’s obvious that it’s a denser line than Urban Decay’s.

Urban Decay Baked, Too Faced Restraining Order, Sephora Opal

Urban Decay Baked, Too Faced Restraining Order, Sephora Opal

When I got home, I did some math.

Urban Decay: 0.25 oz @ $18 = $72/oz
Sephora: 0.12 oz @ $12 = $100/oz
Too Faced: 0.14 oz @ $17.50 = $125/oz

Flat price-wise, Sephora is your cheapest option.  Urban Decay is the most expensive of the trio, but you get the largest amount offered (though I can’t imagine I’d use 0.12 oz, let alone 0.25 oz).  If you’re into bang-for-your-buck, Urban Decay is the cheapest per ounce.  But in the end, for me, the winner is Too Faced.  It’s the most expensive per ounce, but I think it’s the highest quality.  It stays on until you take it off (but at that point, it will actually come off–Urban Decay’s is much more difficult to remove), it lays down a dense line of glitter, and it has one important trait that pulls it out ahead of Sephora’s–it doesn’t BURN when you put it on.  For God only knows what reason, the Sephora liner burns.  This has never stopped me from using it, but it’s annoying and slightly worrisome.

For now, I’m content with my gold, white-, and black-based rainbow glitter liners.  But if I ever choose to expand my color palette, I’ll definitely go with a Too Faced Starry-Eyed liner (and maybe Sephora’s, if I’m feeling brave).

Leave a Reply

