Polish Alert: Sinful Colors Cast Away

I do everything within my power to not leave the house when it’s raining.  But today, I ventured out into bleakness and discomfort in the name of nail polish and hit up Walgreens for the new Sinful Colors spring collection.

It’s Cast Away, and sort of reminds me of last spring’s Adventure Island, though it doesn’t rip off OPI quite as hard.  It’s Grecian-themed, with eight polishes, and I chose three.  I was loving them so hard when I swatched them, I had to at least do a comparison post, to hold myself over until I get around to wearing them.  All swatches are two coats (some people say the formula can be hit or miss, but mine all applied fine).

First up is Athens, one of many green creams of my dreams.

top green: OPI Mermaid's Tears; left green: Sinful Colors Athens; right green: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Mint Sprint; far right green: OPI Jade is the New Black

It’s like a deep-yet-bright green teal, with a hint of gray in it.  IT IS GORGEOUS.  The above colors are what come closest, but NONE of them are dupes.  Seriously freaking amazing.

Next is Zeus.  It’s a nice periwinkle sort of color, but BONUS it’s shot with subtle pinky-purple glitter.  It looks gorgeous in the bottle, and actually translates onto the nail (*glares at Zoya Gemma*).

Also, side note, I have two different polishes named Zeus on the same swatch wheel, and it was not intentional.

The base color reminded me a lot of Petities Color Fever in Periwinkle (aka Zoya Caitlin), so I took a comparison shot of that.

left: Sinful Colors Zeus; right: Petites Color Fever Periwinkle

The blur allows you to see that Zeus is just a tingle less grayed down…they’re PRETTY DARN CLOSE though.  I’d say Zeus is like Periwinkle with fun shimmer.

The final one I chose was the first one that stole my heart.  I present to you, NEPTUNE.

top: Zoya Robyn; middle: Sinful Colors Neptune; bottom: OPI Suzi Says Feng Shui

Normally I’d rag on Sinful for putting the Roman name of the god into a Grecian-themed collection.  But since it actually looks like the freakin planet, I’m gonna give it to ‘em.  It’s an amazing cornflower blue with silver micro glitter.  Oh my Jesus, it’s amazing.  I was especially worried how this would compare to my other blues, but again I have no dupes.  It’s WAY more cornflower that Zoya Robyn or OPI Suzi Says Feng Shui.  And as for my other cornflower with silver shimmer…

left: China Glaze Skyscraper; right: Sinful Colors Neptune

The glitter is obviously larger in China Glaze Skyscraper, but the blue base is also more saturated and more navy toned.  They’re completely different blues, I promise!

Run, do not walk, to Walgreens (in the rain, if you have to!) and get on this!  Sinful Colors are only $1.99!

2 thoughts on “Polish Alert: Sinful Colors Cast Away

  1. Pingback: Sinful Colors Athens « MakeupMental

  2. Pingback: Sinful Colors Neptune | MakeupMental

Leave a Reply

